fucked up a social interaction really badly bibas. met some people and they have a really old dog that is in obvious pain. i could not stop myself from asking if they've taken it to a vet and if they give it anything for pain. they said they go once a year and no, no medicine. then i fucked up so badly by mentioning i put my dog down over the winter and how euthanasia is sometimes the most loving choice. idk why i couldn't stop. the poor dog is emaciated and blind and stinks and can barely walk. and now seven people i was trying to make friends with think i'm horrible
nona it's probably obvious to everyone that they're going to have to make that decision soon and you were just sharing a relatable story. you're not horrible, you said that because you're empathetic and care about a creature that's in obvious pain. it was, at worst, a little tactless, but not malicious by any means.
i think you're probably being hard on yourself because seeing that dog would have been difficult, especially when it reminded you of your own loss which was so recent. you may just be a little sensitive right now. i really don't think it's as bad as you think.
Page 1 of 75